NHMF 2016

The Truman State University Department of Music
Sigma Alpha Iota
invite you to experience a two days of contemporary music

October 7 and 8

All events free to the public.

Schedule of events TBA.

For more information email newhorizonsmusicfestival@gmail.com

Composers of electronic music interested in submitting fixed-media compositions for the 2016 Gallery show can go here. [This is now closed.]

(2015 Festival material)

Music featured in the video:

Carnival Daring-Do
Jay C. Batzner, Music
Video created and directed by Carla Poindexter

Winter’s Summer
Ted King-Smith, composer and performer

Radiance Swells
Thomas L. Wilson, composer
Matthew Shaver, vibraphone

the bunyip
Thomas Dempster, composer
Russell Thorpe, saxophone

TSU All-Stars
Timothy AuBuchon, saxophone
Jay Bulen, trombone
Michael Bump, percussion
Charles Gran, synthesizers

Theodore Moore, composer and video
Kyle Hutchins, saxophone
Theodore Moore, electronics and video

Barry Moon, video, electronics and guitar
Doug Nottingham, percussion and electronics

Hunger Dreams in Flocks
Hunter Ewen, composer and electronics

“Nonette” by Amy X Neuburg, performed by Kate Stenberg
Released on Other Minds Records: Scenes from a New Music Séance.

Amy X Neuburg
composer, percussion, electronics, vocals

Crowd Source
Amy X Neuburg (Premiere of the 2014 Festival Commission)
Amy X Neuburg, vocal
Truman Percussion Ensemble: Michael Bump, director, Ben Barker, Hannah Gallamore, Angela Hilton, Tori Hosler, Jensynn Kasper, Brett Morris, Matt Musselman, Janelle Walker, Nicole Ulmer, Conner Viets

Last Round
I. Movido, urgente
Osvaldo Golijov, composer
Quartet I: Sarite Brown, Hunter Takamiya, violins Emily Koboldt, viola, Daniel Yung, cello
Quartet II: Ava Pacheco, Claire Clausen, violins Christopher Aman, viola; Alyssa AuBuchon, cello Darby Dachroeden, bass
Sam McClure, conductor